Awards for young talent in 2021 at the University of Freiburg

On October 20, the Eva Mayr-Stihl Foundation's young talent awards were presented. This year the prizes were divided between one female and one female prizewinner. Robert Mayr, founder and board member of the Eva Mayr-Stihl Foundation, together with the rector, congratulated them at the opening ceremony of the academic year 2020/2021.


The Eva Mayr Stihl Young Talent Award for outstanding dissertations is shared by Dr.-Ing. Lena Maria Maier and Dr.-Ing. Alexander Jürgen bed. Alexandra Kaube and Robin Krekeler receive the Robert Mayr Young Talent Award for their outstanding master’s theses. Robert Mayr was impressed by the research work of the young scientists: “Renewable energies and the technologies required for their generation represent an important basis for our future. The same applies to the need to save energy wherever possible and to achieve the greatest possible environmental protection. I congratulate our award winners on their important contributions in the search for technical solutions - and admit, full of admiration, that I only partially understand the work. "


The Eva Mayr-Stihl Foundation supports the next generation of scientists in the technical faculty of the Albert-Ludwigs-Universität Freiburg - in particular the Institute for Sustainable Technical Systems (INATECH). The prizes are named after the founder. Scientists receive the Eva Mayr Stihl Prize and the Robert Mayr Prize at the beginning of their careers for very special achievements. The Eva Mayr Stihl Prize is awarded for outstanding dissertations in the field of sustainability research. It is endowed with 5,000 euros. Outstanding master's theses are honored with the Robert Mayr Prize. It is endowed with 3,000 euros. Both prizes are awarded annually


Press release photographs
Handover of the young talent prizes 2021
jpeg, 1.08 MB
3000 x 2000px
From left to right: Dr. Alexander Bett (Eva Mayr Stihl Prize Winner), Alexandra Kaube (Winner of the Robert Mayr Prize), Prof. Dr. Kerstin Krieglstein (Rector of the Albert-Ludwigs-Universität Freiburg), Robert Mayr (founder and board member of the Eva Mayr-Stihl Foundation) and Dr. Lena Maria Maier (winner of the Eva Mayr Stihl Prize). Robin Krekeler is missing.
(c) Joerg Blum